Northgate Academy Credit Transfer Policy

Northgate Academy Credit Transfer Policy

Northgate Academy welcomes transfer credits from other US accredited schools and from schools all over the world. Excel High School will accept transfer credits from other Department of Education recognized, accredited high schools, public schools, charter schools, qualified homeschools, and from accredited International schools that are recognized by a foreign Ministry of Education.

Northgate Academy has adopted the following policy for credit transfer. Northgate Academy will accept up to 75% of transfer credits toward high school graduation. This means that regardless of how many credits a student has earned from a previous school, students must to complete a minimum of 5-6 credits at NGA before a diploma will be issued.

Homeschool credits and transfer

Homeschool credits will be accepted according to the following policy: (Click here)

International students and transfer credits

International/foreign (non-US credits) will be accepted ONLY when verified by Educational Credential Evaluators International students wishing to transfer credits to NGA from outside of the US system are required to have their credits evaluated by Educational Credential Evaluators. Students are responsible to for arranging Educational Credential Evaluators to evaluate credits and have a transcript report forwarded to Northgate Academy. Students are responsible for all fees. Transfer credit reports must be sent directly from Educational Credential Evaluators to Northgate Academy. We do not accept transcripts directly from students. This is the only method by which Northgate Academy will accept credits from other nations.

Northgate Academy will accept credits at face value from schools directly accredited by the following agencies, adopted from (

Accreditation Commission of the Texas Association of Baptist Schools (Accreditation International

Accrediting Association of Seventh-day Adventist Schools Accrediting Commission of Educational

Institutions (CADIE)


Alabama Independent School Association (AISA) American Association of Christian Schools (AACS)

American Montessori Society (AMS)

Arkansas Nonpublic School Accrediting Association (ANSAA)

Association of Christian Schools International (ACSI)

Association of Christian Teachers and Schools (ACTS)

Association of Classical and Christian Schools (ACCS)

Association of Colorado Independent Schools (ACIS)

Association of Independent Maryland & DC Schools (AIMS/MDDC)

Association of Independent Schools in New England (AISNE)

Association of Independent Schools of Florida (AISFL)

Association of Waldorf Schools of North America (AWSNA) California Association of Independent

Schools (CAIS/CA) Canadian Accredited Independent Schools (CAIS/CAN)

Catholic School Accreditation Association (CSAA)

Christian Schools International (CSI)

Christian Schools of Florida (CSF)

Connecticut Association of Independent Schools (CAIS/CT)

Council of Bilingual Schools (COBIS)

Council of International Schools (CIS)

Council on Occupational Education (COE)

Distance Education Accrediting Commission (DEAC)

E.A. Sutherland Education Association

Episcopal Diocese of Florida

Florida Association of Christian Colleges and Schools (FACCS)

Florida Association of Academic

Nonpublic Schools (FAANS)

Florida Catholic Conference Accreditation Program (FCCAP)

Florida Conference of Seventh-day Adventist Schools

Florida Council of Independent Schools (FCIS)

Florida League of Christian Schools

Georgia Accrediting Commission (GAC)

Georgia Association of Christian Schools (GACS)

Georgia Private School Accreditation Council (GPSAC)

Hawaii Association of Independent Schools (HAIS)

Iowa Department of Education (IDE)

Independent Schools Association of the Central States (ISACS)

Independent Schools Association of the Southwest (ISAS)

Indiana State Board of Education (ISBE)

International Christian Accrediting Association (ICAA)

Kansas State Board of Education (KSBE)

Kentucky Non-Public Schools Commission (KyNPSC)

Lutheran Schools Accreditation Commission (LSAC)

The Florida-Georgia District

Michigan Association of Non-Public Schools (MANS)

Michigan Non-Public School Accrediting Association (MNSAA)

Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools (MSA)

Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools, Commission on Elementary Schools (MSA CESS)

Minnesota Non-Public School Accrediting Association

(MNSAA) Mississippi Association of Independent Schools Accrediting Commission

Missouri Nonpublic School Accrediting Association (MNSAA)

Montana State Superintendent, Office of Public Instruction (OPI) Montessori School Accreditation

Commission (MSAC)

National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC)

National Christian School Association (NCSA)

National Commission on Exceptional Schools (NCES)

National Commission for the Accreditation of Special Education Service

National Council for Private School Accreditation (NCPSA)

National Federation of Nonpublic School State Accrediting Association

National Independent Private Schools Association (NIPSA)

National Lutheran Schools of America National Lutheran School Accreditation (NLSA)

Nebraska Department of Education (NDE)

Northwest Association of Independent Schools

New England Association of Schools and Colleges (NEASC)

New Jersey Association of Independent Schools (NJAIS)

New York State Association of Independent Schools (NYSAIS)

New York State Board of Regents

North American Christian School Accrediting Agency (NACSAA)

North Central Association, Commission on Accreditation and School I CASI)/AdvancED

Northwest Association of Independent Schools (NWAIS)

Northwest Accreditation Commission (NWAC)/AdvancED

Ohio Catholic School Accrediting Association (OCSAA)

Oklahoma Conference of Catholic Schools Accreditation Association

Oklahoma Conference of Seventh Day Adventists (OCSDA)

Oklahoma Private School Accreditation Commission (OPSAC)

Oklahoma State Department of Education (OSDE)

Board of Education Pennsylvania Association of Independent Schools (PAIS)

Seventh Day Adventists (SDA)

South Carolina Independent School Association (SCISA) South Dakota Department of Education (SD DOE)

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Council on Accreditation Improvement (SACS


Southern Association of Independent Schools (SAIS)

Southwestern Association of Episcopal Schools (SAES)

The National Association of Private Catholic and Independent Schools

Tennessee Association of Christian Schools (TACS)

Tennessee Association of Non-Public Academic Schools (TANAS)

Texas Alliance of Accredited Private Schools (TAAPS)

Texas Catholic Conference Education Department

Texas Private School Accreditation Commission (TEPSAC)

Texas Seventh-Day Adventists School System

Virginia Association of Independent Schools (VAIS)

Virginia Association of Independent Specialized Education Facilities

Virginia Catholic Education Association (VCEA)

Virginia Council for Private Education (VCPE)

Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC)

Western Catholic Educational Association (WCEA)

Wisconsin Evangelical Lutheran Synod School Accreditation (WELSSA)

Wisconsin Religious and Independent Schools Accreditation (WRISA)

Any questions regarding transfer credits may be directed to the Northgate Academy Office of the Registrar at 800-339-7132.